jump to navigation

PlayStation3 media tour November 14, 2006

Posted by rockysays in hmm...interesting, niceness, inspiration, videogames.
trackback

So the PS3 has finally launched in Japan, and the US launch is fast approaching (us poor unfortunates in Europe still have a few months to wait), and one aspect of Sony’s new piece of living room furniture that has been receiving lots of praise is its media playback/management facilities. Utilising an interface that is essentially a high-res version of the PSP menu system, the PS3 can handle a variety of media on a variety of formats. Music, photos and videos can be read from memory cards and USB flash memory to name just a couple of sources, as well as from the consoles hard drive, although there doesn’t seem to be any provision for streaming media from a PC the way that the Xbox360 can. But where the PS3 currently holds the advantage over the 360 – at least in video playback stakes – is in the fact that it can handle a variety of video formats, not just poxy WMV files like the 360 does. And the “photo album” facility looks absolutely gorgeous, although I’m not sure how useable it is; once that initial “Wow” factor has subsided, I suspect that many PS3 owners will opt for a simple slide show when viewing their digital pics.

On balance, the media playback capabilities of the PS3 and its crossbar interface seem to me a little bit, well, sexier than the 360’s offerings. But that alone wouldn’t be enough to make me want one, especially since I recently bought a 360 – and I could still buy a Wii once it’s available and have two cutting edge consoles for the price of Sony’s one.

Comments»

1. Nathan Pitman - November 27, 2006

So, what be your gamertag then? Send me a friend request if you want, my tag is ‘ninefour’.

2. Article Marketing Robot review - April 16, 2013

Pretty! This has been a really wonderful post. Many thanks for supplying this information.

3. etv.s-lines.net - May 26, 2013

Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it
was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

